TODAYonline: Jetsetting with ... David Archuleta

27/11/2010 12:22

WHAT do you know, the kid affectionately known as Archie from Season 7 of American Idol is already 20.

In the three short years since the talent show, David Archuleta has travelled extensively to promote his music and he's excited to chalk up more stamps in his passport. 

In town recently to promote his album The Other Side Of Down, Archie was showing telling signs of jetlag - frequent yawning and bloodshot eyes - but was alert when asked about the other boy wonder, 16-year-old Justin Bieber.

"I don't consider myself in the same category as I never wanted to be a teen pop sensation," he countered. "It's cool he's doing very well, but we're different kind of artistes." 

Meow! Let's move along to happier topics, shall we?

Do your experiences on the road ever become fodder for your music?

David Archuleta: Yeah, every single thing influences the way I think and feel. I've learnt a lot from travelling, touring and performing. I try to bring it to the songs and how I express myself through my music.

Your new album is called The Other Side Of Down. What are some upsides and downsides of travelling for you?

One big downside is packing. I don't like doing it. I tend to overpack, and even then I still think that I don't have enough. There are lots of upsides to travelling. I enjoy being on the move constantly - it's harder for people to tell me what to do because I'm not in one location. Food is another upside. I like eating a lot and trying different things. I remember trying something really spicy in Malaysia and it was so unbelievably hot that I really thought I might die from it. Water didn't help and tears were rolling down my cheeks.

What music do you like listening to while travelling?

I like music that makes me think. Travelling can be quite lonely and tiring, so I prefer something that puts me in a pensive mood. I love musicians like Regina Spektor and Imogen Heap. They write thoughtful, interesting lyrics. Music is important as it can make you feel connected to another person's experiences even though you may be miles away.

What's the first thing you do when you get into a new hotel room?

I'd see what sort of snacks there are. I told you I like eating! (Laughs) Oh, and I check out the bathrooms, too, as they sometimes differ in design.

Tell us one travelling tip you swear by.

Try not to get stuck in the touristy areas. Find out the popular places where the locals hang out and go there. Sometimes I just like to walk without knowing where I'm going and get lost.

David Archuleta's The Other Side Of Down is available in record stores.

Source