Interview with David Archuleta [Galaxieblog]

25/12/2010 20:34

From Galaxieblog:


We spoke to David Archuleta over the phone recently and he was such a joy to talk to. Not only was the soon-to-be 20-year-old articulate, he was accommodating and inspiring. We know there are a lot of Archie fans out there so here's a bonus snippet of the interview session we had that did not make it into the magazine:

What were your first thoughts when you heard the idea of a David Archuleta book?

I was definitely thinking huh? I'm only a teenager. Teenagers don't really write memoirs. Most people do that later in their lives so that was definitely a thing where I was thinking I don't know if I should do this. But it was a time where I felt like I really could, not necessarily an autobiography or anything like that, it's a book that because I hope I have more future to live with whatever happens in my life. It's more about kinda like what I did with the new album, The Other Side Of Down. It was about explaining to people what I hope the future would be like and what I'm trying to accomplish. Hopefully people will get something out of it when they read it, especially kids my age because the teenagers are having a tough time trying to figure out there's so many ways you can go and take the rest of your life. It's about motivating people to take chances and go for things and to not let that voice inside of you say you can't do this. Because I feel a lot of kids miss opportunities because they believe that and it's like man, if I were to believe that voice and listen to it, I wouldn't be here. I wouldn't be where I am right now. 

Do you have a celebrity crush?

Not really. Ever since I was little I never really understood that. That doesn't even make sense because I don't even know them. How can you even have a crush on someone you haven't even met? But I don't know, maybe we'll see in the future. (Laughs)

What are your plans for your 20th birthday come 28 December?

I don't know, I guess it's not like a huge birthday. You are leaving your teen years but not like 21 yet or anything. Every birthday and probably for the rest of my birthdays, I usually will just go and eat dinner with my family or whomever I'm with. 

No huge party to usher in your 20s?

No, not really. For the last two or three years I had Thai food for dinner. 

Have you considered acting on a musical TV show like Glee? Is that something that interests you?

I've kind of wondered about it because I think it would be fun to do. Coz getting into character and playing that part is a different way of telling the story. It's not exactly your story but it's cool to put yourself in someone else's shoes and kind of live another life for a little bit. I think it would be really fun to do more of because all I've really done is guest appearances, as myself and I would like to try something a little more challenging. 

For more from our one-on-one interview with David Archuleta, pick up the 17-31 December 2010 issue of Galaxie magazine.