American Idol David Archuleta comes to Chennai

29/01/2011 08:37

David Archuleta (Pic: ENS).

He shot to fame as the cherubic, unassuming 17-year-old with a stunning voice on reality  juggernaut, American Idol (season 7). David ‘Archie’ Archuleta has not changed much since, even after the hit single, ‘Crush’, and three albums.

 

In the city to celebrate the fifth anniversary of Courtyard by Marriott in Chennai, the 20-year-old gets talking about American Idol’s makeover and what he plans to do in India.

 

From dentist to Chennai: At an appointment with my dentist, he showed me the pamphlets of Rising Star Outreach in Kancheepuram and I was shocked to learn that leprosy still exists. And these people are cast out of society, so I decided to get involved.

 

American Idol, minus Simon Cowell: I don’t think Simon’s absence will affect the show too much as I think the show needed a fresh new start. As for the new judges, Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez, Tyler is so funny and seeing someone like Lopez is just amazing. The age bar has been lowered (contestants who are 15 can now audition). I saw a lot of young people who were dedicated and that’s what matters at the end of the day. Whoever has the heart will have no problem in the process.

 

Surprise show, fan clubs: I would love to (perform) this season but the producers do not give too much notice, so I don’t know for sure. Talking about fans, I was once walking down the street when this girl saw me and suddenly let out a scream. The only problem was she would not let go of my hand and I tried really hard to get away (laughs).

 

Inspiration: Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder and Kelly Clarkson.

 

No plans for Hollywood: My family keeps me in check as they have taught me to treasure the simpler things in life.

Source